THE LEGAL VOTERS OF THE TOWN OF JAMAICA, IN THE COUNTY OF WINDHAM AND STATE OF VERMONT, ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED AND WARNED TO MEET AT 10:00 A.M. AT THE TOWN HALL IN SAID TOWN OF JAMAICA, ON THE FIRST TUESDAY IN MARCH, MARCH 1st, 2016 TO TRANSACT THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS AND ACT UPON THE FOLLOWING ARTICLES: VIZ:

Alexandra Clark called the meeting to order at 1:00pm.

Article 1. Greg Joly was nominated as Moderator for a term of 1 year by Frances Sherwood. Seconded by David Mink. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Greg Joly was elected Town Moderator for a term of one year by voice vote.

Article 2. To hear the report of the professional auditors. Alexandra Clark stated that key pages could from the audit were printed in the Town Report, and the full report is available at the Town Clerk's office or electronically.

Article 3. To elect the following officers as required by law.

- A. Andy Coyne was nominated for Selectperson for a term of three years by Ed Flower. 2nd by David Mink. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Andy Coyne was elected for Selectperson for a term of 3 years by voice vote.
- B. Paul Fraser was nominated for Selectperson for a term on one year by CJ King. 2nd by Frances Sherwood. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Paul Fraser was elected for Selectperson for a term of one year by voice vote.
- C. Lou Bruso was nominated for Selectperson for a term of one year by Ed Flower. 2nd by David Mink. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Lou Bruso was elected for Selectperson for a term of one year by voice vote.
- D. Ed Dorta-Duque was nominated as Lister for a term of 3 years by Ed Flower. 2nd by CJ King. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Ed Dorta-Duque was elected as Lister for a term of 3 years by voice vote.
- E. Robert Willis was nominated as 1st Constable for a term of one year by David Mink. 2nd by Frances Sherwood. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Robert Willis was elected as 1st Constable for a term of one year by voice vote.
- F. Stewart Barker was nominated as 2nd Constable for a term of one year by Frances Sherwood. Stewart Barker declined the nomination. Kristina Barker was nominated by Drew Hazelton. Kristina Barker declined. Ben Williams was nominated by Andy Coyne. 2nd by Ed Flower. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Ben Williams was elected as 2nd Constable for a term of one year by voice vote.
- G. Stephen Clark was nominated as Town Grand Juror for a term of one year by Ed Dorta-Duque. 2nd by David Mink. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Stephen Clark was elected as Town Grand Juror for a term of one year by voice vote.
- H. Peter Andrus was nominated as Town Agent for a term of one year by David Mink. 2nd by Frances Sherwood. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed.

- Peter Andrus was elected as Town Agent for a term of one year by voice vote.
- I. Stephen Clark was nominated as Trustee of Public Funds for a term of one year by Ben Williams. 2nd by Ed Dorta-Duque. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Stephen Clark was elected as Trustee of Public Funds for a term of one year by voice vote.
- J. Pat Meulemans was nominated as Agent to Deed Land for a term of one year by David Mink. 2nd by Ed Dorta-Duque. Pamela Tweedy was nominated by Ed Flower. 2nd by CJ King. Nominations were closed. After a hand vote, Pat Meulemans had 11 votes and Pamela Tweedy had 28. Pamela Tweedy was elected Agent to Deed Land for a term of one year.
- K. Jennifer Dorta-Duque was nominated as Library Trustee for a term of five years by Janet Hamilton. 2nd by Frances Sherwood. There being no other nominations the Moderator declared them closed. Jennifer Dorta-Duque was elected Library Trustee for a term of five years by voice vote.

Article 4. Shall the Voters authorize the transfer of the prior year Revenue Surplus of \$31,410 to the Highway Reserve Fund? David Mink moved the article. Frances Sherwood seconded. Discussion about what the funds can/will be used for followed. Highway Reserve Fund is for culverts, bridges and roads, and there are many culverts in town that will need replacing. The funds would not be used towards a new Highway Garage. Frances Sherwood made the motion to accept the article as read. David Mink seconded. Motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote.

Article 5. Alexandra Clark made the motion to raise the sum \$940,171.50 by taxation for the running expenses of the town and this along with anticipated receipts of \$228,500.00 equaling a budget of \$1,168,721.50. Taxes will be due and payable on October 3rd and will be delinquent on October 4th with an 8% penalty added by state law, plus interest at the rate of 1% will be added starting Dec. 1 until paid in full. Discussion followed concerning whether or not Old Home Day should be in the appropriations section of the budget. Also, it was clarified that the budget for the Windham County Sheriff's department is going up because the town will be getting more hours from them per month (from 42 to 80 hours per month). It was also noted that the difference in the 2016 and 2017 tax revenue will come from an increase in the tax rate. Tom Tolbert seconded. Motion was passed by voice vote.

Article 6. To see if the Voters will authorize the Selectboard to borrow money in anticipation of taxes. David Mink made the motion to accept article as read. Seconded by Ed Dorta-Duque. The motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote.

Article 7. Shall the Voters authorize the Selectboard to spend "unanticipated funds such as grants, gifts and/or interest"? Ed Dorta-Duque made the motion to accept article as read. Seconded by David Mink. The motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote.

Article 8. Shall the Voters exempt the Jamaica Volunteer Fire & Rescue, Inc. land and building from taxation for a period of five years as provided in Title 32 Section 3840 V.S.A.? Ed Dorta-Duque made the motion to accept article as read. Clarification was made that this is exemption from all taxes. Seconded by David Mink. The motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote.

Greg Joly took time before Article 9 to discuss any other business that may legally come before this meeting. Discussion began about the bond vote for the new Town Garage. Ben Williams made a motion to close discussion. CJ King seconded. A hand vote followed with 30 votes to close discussion and 18 to continue discussion. Discussion closed. Drew Hazelton made a motion to have a warned meeting before the town acts on the new Town Garage if the bond vote passes. Seconded by Tom Tolbert. Motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote with 5 abstentions.

Other discussion followed regarding the town website, the Jamaica Village Arts Council, PAYT, and the Watershed Alliance.

Article 9. Ed Dorta-Duque made the motion to open at 10:00am on the 1st Tuesday in March, 2017. Seconded by Ed Flower. Motion carried in the affirmative by voice vote.

Ed Dorta-Duque made the motion to adjourn. Dana West seconded. Town Meeting adjourned at 2:25pm.

APPROVED BY THE SELECTBOARD ON MARCH 14, 2016

Alexandra Clark, Chairperso	on
Andy Coyne	
Paul Fraser	
Judith Flower	
Lou Bruso	